Rally Model Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

FREE Freehand MX vector drawing programme

+4
David Napier
Juha
Ted Creedon
Cowley
8 posters

Go down

FREE Freehand MX vector drawing programme Empty FREE Freehand MX vector drawing programme

Post  Cowley Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:45 pm

Prior to being made redundant in 2013, I worked in the graphic design and print industry for 30 years - yawn! Rolling Eyes - and have used a variety of industry standard software packages on Apple Macs for the last 20 years. However, since leaving the industry and not being able to afford an Apple Mac at home, I was keen to see if my favourite vector drawing programme (Freehand) was available for the PC platform.

After quite a lot of digging about, I was thrilled to hear that it was indeed! bounce

As a bit of background for those of you who don't know anything about Freehand, it was first released by Aldus in the early 1990s, was a very straight forward and user friendly 2 dimensional vector programme to use, and was literally adopted by the vast majority of the industry. As it gradully evolved over the years, with increased features, including when Macromedia acquired Aldus, it seemed to be coming under increasing pressure from Adobe Illustrator - despite the fact that it still had it's hardy band of diehard users not wanting to adapt their skills and re-learn the alternative Illustrator package.

In more recent times, Adobe themselves acquired Macromedia in 2005, stripped Freehand of a few of it's features and incorporated them into Illustrator, and then the inevitable happened - development was first discontinued, and then the package was eventually withdrawn from sale altogether!